This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Benin

Benin is made up of 12 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Benin. Information on all primary administrative regions in Benin.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Benin alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Benin

There are 12 regions in Benin in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Benin
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Alibori Alibori1.576,251Kandi Kandi109,701
Atakora Atakora Department2.586,734Natitingou Natitingou80,892
Atlantique Atlantique Department3.896,901Ouidah Ouidah83,503
Borgou Borgou Department4.802,503Parakou Parakou163,753
Collines Collines Department5.602,066Savalou Savalou30,187
Donga Donga6.384,151Djougou Djougou237,040
Kouffo Kouffo Department7.560,182Dogbo Dogbo41,312
Littoral Littoral8.690,584--
Mono Mono9.380,078Lokossa Lokossa86,971
Plateau Plateau Department10.435,623Sakete Sakété30,111
Queme Département de l’Ouémé11.773,421Porto-Novo Porto-Novo234,168
Zou Zou Department12.628,684Abomey Abomey82,154